Board of Directors

Board members meet monthly to further the strategic work and mission of United Way of Southwest Minnesota.  They take seriously their fiduciary responsibility to make sure the resources that are entrusted to the organization are wisely used and to achieve desired outcomes.  United Way of Southwest Minnesota board members actively participate in task forces and committees that help carry out the work of the organization.

Board members are volunteers from across the United Way of Southwest Minnesota service area.  There are up to 24 board members who serve three-year terms.  Each board member is eligible to serve two consecutive terms as a director.  Annually, the board elects a Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer.  The President & CEO serves as Secretary of the organization, but is not a voting member of the board.

Following is a list of the current board members, including their board position and affiliation - 


Amie Ascheman
Board Past Chair
Runchey, Louwagie & Wellman PLLP


Al Castor
Lockwood Motors



Dion Caron
Marshall Public Schools



Michelle Doeling
Resource Development Chair
Minnwest Bank 


Barry Gronke
Stoneberg, Giles & Stroup



Julie Hartle
Schwan's Shared Services, LLC



Amy Herrick
Board Chair

North Star Mutual Insurance Company


Bethany Janachovsky
Schwan's Shared Services, LLC



Brian Jeremiason
Lyon-Lincoln Electric Cooperative



Joseph Karanja
Southwest Minnesota Private Industry Council



Krista Kopperud
Painted Prairie Vineyard



Terry Kriz
Board Treasurer

Runnings Supply Inc.



Rachel Nuese
Schwan's Company


Melanie Pedersen
Board Vice Chair
U.S. Bank


Dawn Schroeder
Brookdale Senior Living



Lee Steffen
Archer Daniels Midland



Luke Tietz
Community Impact Chair
Bremer Bank


LuAnn Trutwin
Avera Regional Medical Center



Abby Wikelius
Lyon County Attorney's Office